SEAN

And BAM! He clocks it. High fly ball down the left field
line! Thirty-five thousand people, on their feet, yellin’
at the ball, but that’s not because of Fisk. He’s wavin’ at
the ball like a madman.

WILL
Yeah, I’ve seen…

SEAN
He’s going, “Get over! Get over! Get OVER!” And then
it HITS the foul pole. OH, he goes apeshit, and 35,000
fans, you know, they charge the field, you know? >

WILL
Yeah, and he’s fuckin’ bowlin’ police out of the way!

SEAN
Goin’ “God! Get out of the way! Get ’em away!”
Banging people..

WILL
I can’t fuckin’ believe you had tickets to that fuckin’
game!

SEAN
Yeah!

WILL
Did you rush the field?

SEAN
No..I didn’t rush the fuckin’ field, I wasn’t there.

WILL
What?

SEAN
No..I was in a bar havin’ a drink with my future wife. >

WILL
You missed Pudge Fisk’s homerun?

SEAN
Oh yeah.

WILL
To have a fuckin’ drink with some lady you never met?

SEAN
Yeah, but you shoulda’ seen her. She was a stunner.

WILL
I don’t care if fuckin’–

SEAN
Oh no, no, she lit up the room.

WILL
I don’t care if Helen of Troy walks in the room, that’s
game six!

SEAN
Oh, Helen of Troy..

WILL
Oh my God, and who are these fuckin’ friends of
yours they let you get away with that?

SEAN
Oh…They had to.

WILL
W-w-w-what’d you say to them?

SEAN
I just slid my ticket across the table and I said, “Sorry
guys, I gotta’ see about a girl.”

WILL
I gotta’ go see about a girl?

SEAN
Yeah.

WILL
That’s what you said? And they let you get away with
that?

SEAN

Oh yeah. They saw in my eyes that I meant it.

WILL
You’re kiddin’ me.



SEAN
So, call her up, Romeo.

WILL
Why? So I can realize she’s not that smart, that she’s
fuckin’ boring? Y’know–I mean…this girl is like
fuckin’ perfect right now, I don’t wanna r–ruin that.

SEAN
Maybe you’re perfect right now. Maybe you don’t
wanna ruin that. I think that’s a super philosophy, Will,
that way you can go through your entire life without
ever having to really know anybody….My wife used to
fart when she was nervous. She had all sorts of
wonderful idiosyncrasies. You know what? She used to
fart in her sleep. Sorry I shared that with you. One
night it was so loud it woke the dog up. She woke up
and gone like “oh was that you?” ‘d say yeah…I didn’t
have the heart to tell her…Oh God…

WILL
She woke herself up?

SEAN
Ye e e e sss…. Oh Christ….aahhh, but, Will, she’s been
dead two years and that’s the shit I remember.
Wonderful stuff, you know, little things like that. Ah,
but, those are the things I miss the most. The little
idiosyncrasies that only I knew about. That’s what made
her my wife. Oh and she had the goods on me, too, she
knew all my little peccadillos. People call these things
imperfections, but they’re not, aw that’s the good stuff.
And then we get to choose who we let in to our weird
little worlds.  You’re not perfect, sport. And let me
save you the suspense. This girl you met, she isn’t
perfect either. But the question is: whether or not you’re
perfect for each other.  That’s the whole deal. That’s
what intimacy is all about. Now you can know
everything in the world, sport, but the only way you’re
findin’ out that one is by givin’ it a shot. You certainly
won’t learn from an old fucker like me.  Even if I did
know, I wouldn’t tell a piss ant like you.

WILL
Why not? You told me every other fuckin’ thing. Jesus
Christ. Fuckin’ talk more than any shrink I ever seen in
my life.

SEAN
I teach this shit, I didn’t say I know how to do it.

WILL
Yeah…….You ever think about gettin’ remarried?

SEAN
My wife’s dead.

WILL
Hence the word: remarried.

SEAN
She’s dead.



Good Will Hunting

